Bank of Georgetown Celebrates 10 Years

Bank of Georgetown CEO Mike Fitzgerald and Deborah Windsor.
Robert Devaney
Bank of Georgetown CEO Mike Fitzgerald and Deborah Windsor.

Founded in 2005, Bank of Georgetown is celebrating 10 years in business. Chartered in D.C., the bank was cofounded by the late Curtin Winsor III and Mike Fitzgerald, chairman, president and CEO.

"When Curt Winsor III and I conceived of Bank of Georgetown, we envisioned it as an integral part of the Washington metropolitan area," Fitzgerald says. "Our mission was, and is, for our customers to experience the true meaning of a community bank. Locally owned. Locally run. Locally involved."

Bank of Georgetown has 11 branches in Washington, D.C., Montgomery County and Northern Virginia. It has more than $1 billion in assets and 108 employees.

In his column in December, John Girouard observed, "Community banks include Bank of Georgetown . . . which provide services to small businesses, including construction loans, and contribute to local charities. They are known in the community, and they know us, too."

The bank's corporate headquarters at 1115 30th St. NW includes its 11th branch, named after Winsor, who died in December 2012.

Happy 10th to a hometown favorite.

Comments are temporarily disabled.
Sat, 27 May 2017 05:55:40 -0400

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest Georgetowner updates.